Support The Bulwark and subscribe today.
  Join Now

Lois Lowry

Lois Lowry is the author of the bestselling novel The Giver (1993), for which she was awarded the Newbery Medal, and its three sequels (collectively The Giver Quartet). Her many other books include Number the Stars (1990), for which she was also awarded a Newbery Medal. For more about her work, visit

Articles by Lois Lowry

May 15, 2020 5:30 am

Dear Reader

A letter from the author of ‘The Giver’ and ‘Number the Stars.’
Lois Lowry